Best Practice: Link Locks and Link Library

Lock Links

The OC owner can lock some or all of the links within an OC. This ensures the information contained within the link cannot be edited or deleted by any other user. Locking links not only ensures also means critical links aren’t inadvertently deleted by other users.

For example, if a Solution Architect building the OC has concluded that certain products, services offerings, and capabilities must always be included and shown in the OC, then those Links should be locked. When collaborating or sharing OC with other users, we recommend the owner of the OC to lock any Link that has been finalized or do not wish to be changed by shared users.

Link Library; Reusing Content

The link library allows reusing already created links onto a new OC. Rather than re-creating popular links, you can find the Master versions of these links saved in the link library and add them into the new OC.

When selecting the existing master link from the link library to re-use, you have two versions of the same link to choose from

  • View-Only
    • View-Only version of the Master Link is a mirror image of the Master Link
    • Contains all the original link descriptions and attachments
    • Cannot be modified
  • Standalone
    • Editable copy of the Master Link

As a best practice, if you know that certain link will be frequently reused in other OCs, select and reuse the View-Only version of the Master Link. Because the Master Link is the source version of all the subsequent View-Only Links, you can refresh the content within View-Only Links by updating the Master Link. This allows you to edit the Master Link once and refresh all the changes made in the Master Link in its View-Only copies.